Key subsidiaries

Our Group comprises individual country banks (including Absa Bank) and their subsidiaries, and Absa Financial Services and its
(mainly insurance and asset management) subsidiaries. Significant legal entities to the Group include:

  • Absa Bank Limited (South Africa)
  • Absa Financial Services Limited
  • Barclays Bank of Botswana Limited
  • Barclays Bank of Ghana Limited
  • Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited
  • Barclays Bank Mauritius Limited
  • Barclays Bank Mozambique SA
  • Barclays Bank (Seychelles) Limited
  • National Bank of Commerce Limited
  • Barclays Bank Tanzania Limited
  • Barclays Bank of Uganda Limited
  • Barclays Bank Zambia plc

There are open lines of communication between the chairmen of the subsidiary boards and the Barclays Africa Chairman. Peter Matlare, Deputy Chief Executive Officer: Rest of Africa Banking, made multiple visits to each country since his appointment, which has further strengthened ties with subsidiary management and boards as well as local regulators.

As Group Chairman, Wendy Lucas-Bull again hosted an Africa chairmen’s conference during the year to discuss strategy execution and planning; Colin Beggs, Chairman of the Group Audit and Compliance Committee, hosted an audit committee training seminar for all members of subsidiary board audit committees to ensure alignment on technical interpretations of accounting statements, processes
and best practice.